Concrete Matters

Favor me with a context switch as I return to Albemarle number one’s diorama.  Since this Albemarle was going to my wife’s uncle, the display would be simpler, featuring the plane and uncluttered by airfield apparatus.  I used the guidelines in Sheperd Paine’s How to Build Dioramas and purchased a simple picture frame and pebble matte board.

I scribed sections with a hobby knife, then primed and painted what turned out to be a pretty good concrete color.  I made a trip to the art supply store and returned with syringes and thick Liquitex Payne’s Gray acrylic paint.  This was fun to apply and  with a little sculpting/smoothing, looks like tar placed within the expansion joints.

Final touches included tire residue, concrete cracks, oil spatters, and a whole lot of dot filters to blend the colors together.  As this was a gift, I added a small brass tribute from  http://www.plaquemaker.com/.

Albemarle No 1 Finished.5 (very good)EditedAlbemarle No 1 Finished.8 (very good)EditedAlbemarle No 1 Finished.7 (good)Edited2

With diorama number one completed, it was time for wrapping up diorama number two.

Go to Blog Start

Leave a comment